Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Club and Speciality Forums > Forum Community Car Clubs > AU Falcon.com.au

Old 18-01-2009, 03:44 PM   #1
CARLO5

Default Auiii Xr8..... Help!!!!!

Hey guys i'm brand new to this, i'm seeking good advice!! Ive an AUIII XR8, the log books tell me its an ex victorian hwy car, prob suggests why ive an unusual diff ratio. Revs very high in 5th on freeways ect. Its got 225000km, the gearbox is tired, the whining bearings have told me so. I plan on getting the box rebuilt next wk, but come tax time i'd like to make my car go a lil harder. I understand that with the mileage i may need a rebuild, i like the car and would like to keep it for as long as i can, so if i have to rebuild it to ensure that, no probs. My budget is about 6-8 grand, what do u's suggest in way of engine upgrades, remembering i dont wanna spend the whole lot on mods if its gonna cook the motor and then i have to rebuild it after. I was thinking maybe to just rebuild it and put a stroker kit on it... is this a worth while idea?? Anyone got a better idea. Any help would be great!! CHEERS!!!

CARLO5 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-01-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
FTe342
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

Yes mate, you can't go past the extra torque of a stroker. However, this will test your gearbox, so think about ditching the std one in favour of a Tremec 6 speed. This will help with your hwy revs also. Contact Mal Wood in Qld . A mate of mine has done this with his AUIII XR8 and very happy
T3 TL50 #147 Silhouette Auto ESS - Brembos - Last of 3 in T3 spec, only AUIII TL50 ever built -14.2 sec @ 98mph bog stock. Only customer ordered T3 TL50 built, only LWB sedan plated AUIII and the last performance enhanced LWB sedan built by Ford Aust.

AUII Fairlane Ghia Sportsman 5.0L in Blue Pearl

OWN THE ROAD
FTe342 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post